PME OnLine Expo Workshop: Workforce Development: Resources and Partners

Helping business create the next generation of maritime industry workers. That was the topic of a workforce development workshop as a part of 2020 Pacific Marine Expo OnLine.

 

To watch the video of the workshop, click here.

 

The workshop featured presentations from a variety of training and education organizations. They helped showcase apprenticeships, training programs and other workforce development initiatives, particularly engaging engage communities of color and women.

 

The workshop was presented by the Seattle Propeller Club, he Port of Seattle, the Youth Maritime Collaborative, Washington Maritime Blue, National Fisherman magazine and Pacific Marine Expo.

 

Speakers included:

 

Sarah Scherer, Manufacturing and Maritime Advocate

Seattle Office of Economic Development

President, Seattle Propeller Club

sarah.scherer@seattle.gov

www.seattle.gov/office-of-economic-development

 

Kurt Holland, USCG Licensed Master

USNA Instructor, Big Picture Learning.

kurt.holland@gmail.com

www.bigpicture.org

 

Dan Golosman, Principal

Seattle Skills Center, Seattle Public Schools

dpgolosman@seattleschools.org

www.skillscenter.seattleschools.org

 

Katie Searle, Internships and Career Pathways Coordinator

Seattle Public Schools

klsearle@seattleschools.org

https://www.seattleschools.org/academics/college_career_readiness/career_readiness/career_and_technical_education/career_connected_learning/internships

 

Dontay-Proctor-Mills, Youth Program Specialist

Goodwill Job Training and Education Center

Dontay.Proctor-Mills@seattlegoodwill.org

https://seattlegoodwill.org/job-training-and-education

 

Len Tumbarello, Captain, USCG (retired)

Director of Seamanship, Tongue Point Job Corps

tumbarello.len@jobcorps.org

www.tonguepoint.jobcorps.gov/

 

Amy Kovacs, Education Director

Sound Experience

amy@soundexp.org

www.soundexp.org

 

Veasna Hoy, Director

Youth Maritime Collaborative 

veasna@maritimeblue.org

www.youthmaritimecollaborative.org/

Sponsored by:

Supporting Organizations

North Seattle Industrial Association

Seattle Marine Business Coalition

Northwest Marine Trade Association

Print Print | Sitemap
© King County Maritime. Web design by Saunderson Marketing Group. Photos courtesy of Don Wilson, Port of Seattle.